Winners of the AO Spine ESA 2020 Young Researcher Grants


23 December 2020

Young Researchers Grants

It is with great pleasure and pride we announce the winners of the 2020 AO Spine Europe and Southern Africa (ESA) Young Researcher Grants. These grants are awarded to young investigators who have submitted proposals to perform high-quality, clinically relevant spinal or spinal cord research in translational and clinical science.

In the category of translational science, the grant recipient is:

Sonja Häckel from Switzerland for the study proposal entitled: "Treating Discogenic Pain by Reducing Nerve Sensitization and Ingrowth using COX-2 Inhibitor Celecoxib".

In the category of clinical science, the grant recipient is:

Nikolai Maldaner from Switzerland for the study proposal entitled: "Evaluation of a Smartphone-Based Program to Facilitate Postoperative Monitoring and Recovery in Patients Undergoing Surgery for Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease".

Both winners are awarded funding of CHF 7'500 for one year to conduct their research proposals.

Please join us in congratulating the winners and wishing them success with their studies. The quality of proposals in 2020 was very impressive, and we extend our compliments to all participants for their excellent and thoughtful submissions.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.