New AO Spine council in South Africa

Striving for excellence in spinal care for all

13 July 2020

Council South Africa

We are pleased to announce the election of new council members in South Africa. Ian Vlok (chairperson), Sanesh Miseer (officer orthopedics), and Schalk Burger (officer neurosurgery) will shape the future of AO Spine in South Africa supported by past chairperson Johan Davis. Their term of office started on July 1, 2020. We wish them all the best.

According to Ian Vlok, AO Spine has formed an integral part of spinal surgery training in South Africa for many years. "The national council is looking forward to building on that legacy. In this time of restrictions, the training milieu has changed and created many opportunities for new teaching methods to be embraced. We look forward to reaching out to even more colleagues over our term."

Sanesh Miseer is passionate about further developing spinal surgery in South Africa, particularly in vulnerable groups such as pediatric deformity. He looks forward to his term and working with all relevant stakeholders.

Schalk Burger says: "As individuals, with diverse backgrounds, we should strive towards the common goal of excellence in spinal care for all."

We thank the current council members Johan Davis (chairperson), Nick Kruger (officer orthopedics), and Ian Vlok (officer neurosurgery) for their contributions to AO Spine and invite them to stay engaged in our community.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.