2018 Young Investigator Research Grant Awards

AOSNA is pleased to announce the results

25 June 2018

For the 11th year, the AO Spine North America Research Committee has established the Young Investigator Research Grant Award (YIRGA) funding new investigators who have a desire to perform high-quality, clinically relevant spinal or spinal cord research in basic or clinical science. The applicants, all AOSNA subscribed members, sent in a significant number of applications to be evaluated in a blinded peer review process by the Research Committee members.

The following investigators will each be awarded a one-year grant of $20,000 to help with their research.

Larry Lo (Johns Hopkins Hospital)

In Vivo Synergistic Effect of Checkpoint Blockade and Bromodomain Inhibitors Against Chordomas in a Humanized Mouse Model

Ali Ozturk (Yale University)

Stretch-grown Axons in Spinal Cord Injury

Ganesh Shankar (Cleveland Clinic)

Molecular Determinants of Outcomes in Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma to the Spine

Jeff Wilson (St. Michael’s Hospital)

Defining the Natural History and Predictors of Disease Progression in Mild Degenerative Cervical Myelopathy

The projects will be carried out during 2018 and 2019 and the investigators will be invited to present their results at the 2019 Fellows Forum in Banff. Congratulations to the winners – they certainly represent a significant contribution to the quality of research being performed in North America. For AOSNA, it is a pleasure to be able to invest in promising projects like these and to incentivize the members to actively take part in the scientific development of the region.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.