In case of interest, please send an email to ​


Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery (MISS) Task Force

The MISS Task Force aims at enabling AOSpine to become the leading educator in minimally invasive techniques and procedures and meet surgeons' needs for improved surgical outcomes and reduced morbidity. The key objectives of the Task Force are based on the following focus areas

  1. Target – Optimized patient selection
  2. Technology – Optimal combination of access, visualization, navigation, instrumentation, biologic augmentation
  3. Technique – Principles, approaches, neural protection, decompression, stabilization
  4. Training – Simulation, observation, mentorship
  5. Testing the boundaries – MISS for deformity, robotics.

The Task Force is reaching these objectives by

  1. Agreeing on MISS definition, techniques and procedures to include in our education
  2. Creating an MISS curriculum based on skills and procedures
  3. Developing and standardizing MISS training courses
  4. Identifying and developing faculty together with Faculty Management Task Force
  5. Collaborating with educational technology, simulators and device developers
  6. Defining and implementing a registry for MISS procedures

We are gathering your feedback on your local needs. To provide us with feedback, please follow this link.

If you are interested in becoming a faculty member for MISS courses, please provide us with your details here.

The task force for MISS spearheads the process within AOSpine to better define the role of MISS going forward, to evaluate the great variety of technologies and techniques available, and establish successful ways to teach and train surgeons globally and at every stage of their career."

Roger Härtl
Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery (MISS) Task Force Leader

Task Force Members

Roger Härtl
Task Force Leader
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, United States

Richard Assaker
Centre Hospitalier Regional Universitaire
Lille, France

Mohammed Assous
AOSpine Spine Center and Fellowship Officer Middle East
Razi Spine Clinic
Amman, Jordan

Christoph Hofstetter
University of Washington
Seattle, United States

JinSung Kim
Spine Center
Seoul, Republic of Korea

Avelino Parajon
Hospital Universitario
Ramón y Cajal
Madrid, Spain

Néstor Taboada
Barranquilla, Columbia

Paul Taylor
Spines WA
Perth, Australia

Task Force Manager

Melanie Schatz