In case of interest, please send an email to ​


Minimally Invasive Surgery (MIS) Task Force

The MIS Task Force aims at enabling AOSpine to become the leading educator in minimally invasive technologies by meeting surgeons' needs for improved surgical outcomes and reduced morbidity. The key objectives of the Task Force are based on the following focus areas

  1. Target – Optimized patient selection
  2. Technology – Optimal combination of access, visualization, navigation, instrumentation, biologic augmentation
  3. Technique – Principles, approaches, neural protection, decompression, stabilization
  4. Training – Simulation, observation, mentorship
  5. Testing the boundaries – MIS for deformity, robotics.

The Task Force is reaching these objectives by

  1. Agreeing on MIS definition, techniques and technology to include in our education
  2. Creating an MIS curriculum based on skills and procedures
  3. Developing and standardizing MIS training courses
  4. Identifying and developing faculty together with Faculty Management Task Force
  5. Actively looking for collaboration with educational technology, simulators and device developers
  6. Defining and implementing a registry for MIS procedures

The task force for MIS spearheads the process within the AO to better define the role MIS surgery going forward, to evaluate the great variety of technologies and techniques available, and establish successful ways to teach and train surgeons globally and at every stage of their career in MIS."

Roger Härtl
Minimally Invasive Surgery (MIS) Task Force Leader

Task Force Members

Roger Härtl
Task Force Leader
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, United States

Richard Assaker
Centre Hospitalier Regional Universitaire
Lille, France

Christoph Hofstetter
University of Washington
Seattle, United States

JinSung Kim
Spine Center
Seoul, Republic of Korea

Avelino Parajon
Hospital Universitario
Ramón y Cajal
Madrid, Spain

Néstor Taboada
Barranquilla, Columbia

Paul Taylor
Spines WA
Perth, Australia

Task Force Manager

Melanie Schatz